Recommended daily reading – 21 September

Nothing from yesterday, but here are some items from today:

On Reassigned Time 2.0, Dr. Crazy makes the case for college and university faculty to use their power over curriculum and assessment in productive ways, and to not cede that control to others simply because the work can be sticky and boring. I left a comment, but I’ll add here that what I wrote on Dr. Crazy’s blog is from recent experience as Faculty Senate President and as the chair of a committee charged with assessing general education at WOU. Short version: I basically agree with Crazy, but am not convinced that faculty can or should control assessment to the same degree as curriculum (though the two are not easy to tease apart, which is why, I think, she approaches them together).

On BLDGBLOG, Geoff Manaugh speculates on the architectural possibilities of the recent, and widely publicized, nine-day traffic jam in China.

Last, on Top Shelf 2.0 you can try to puzzle out Tymothi Godek’s “!”.

One thought on “Recommended daily reading – 21 September

  1. Shaun – I think you’re right that the two aren’t identical, and that to some extent assessment is less within faculty control. From my recent experience, though, my sense is that departments that take assessment seriously and take ownership over it have a lot more capital in deciding how assessment stuff gets implemented than the faculty who resist or ignore the assessment stuff. Really curriculum is the thing I’m more seriously interested in (which I think is as it should be), but assessment can be used to underwrite curricular changes, which is why I think it’s so important that faculty don’t look the other way when assessment procedures are designed, etc.

    Thanks for the link!

Comments are closed.